Editorial Team

Our editorial team includes scholars and leaders at two- and four-year institutions with strong national reputations in higher education governance, policy, law, and finance. Editorial board members are active leaders in major national and international associations focused on higher education policy and finance in the US and around the world.

Editorial Team

  • Editors-in-Chief—Kim Bullington and William Nuckols, Old Dominion University

Associate Editors

  • Matthew Smith—Valdosta State, Valdosta, GA

Assistant Editors

  • Francis Musa Boakari—Federal University of Piaui, Teresina, Brazil
  • Felecia Commodore—Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA
  • Shannon Calderone—Washington State University, Pullman, WA
  • Monique Colclough—North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Tracy Collum—Idaho State University, Pocatello, ID
  • Jay De Loreto—Northern Quezon College, Inc., Quezon, Philippines
  • Matt DeMonbrun—University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • Sherry Early—Marshall University South Charleston, South Charleston, WV
  • Vivienne Felix—New York University, New York, NY
  • Janet Gao—The George Washington University, Washington, DC
  • Nioud Gebru—University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
  • Valerie Guerrero—University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Catherine Hartman—The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX
  • Josh Howell—College of the Albemarle, Elizabeth City, NC
  • Jennifer Johnson—Temple University, Philadelphia, PA
  • Royel Johnson—The Pennsylvania State University, State College, PA
  • Jennifer Joy-Gaba—Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA
  • Bobak Kasrai—The Mentor Collective, Williamsburg, VA
  • Julie Marlatt—Tennessee Board of Regents, Nashville, TN
  • Tiffany Menard—Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, OH
  • Hoa Nguyen—Valdosta State University, Valdosta, GA
  • Thai-Huy Nguyen—Seattle University, Seattle, WA
  • Symphony Oxendine—University of North Carolina at Wilmington
  • Denise Pearson—Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education
  • Lara Perez-Felkner—Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL
  • Sean Robinson—Morgan State University, Baltimore, MD
  • Katherine E. Rohrer—University of North Georgia, GA
  • Jamey Rorison—Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Washington, DC
  • Cecile Sam—Rowan University, Glassboro, NJ
  • Kellie Sorey—Tidewater Community College, Norfolk, VA
  • Laura Soulsby—Randolph Macon College, Ashland, VA
  • Patrick Tompkins—NHTI Concord Community College, Concord, NH
  • Raquel Wright-Mair—Rowan University, Glassboro, NJ
  • Caolfionn Yenney-Henderson—University of Minnesota Twin Cities, Minneapolis, MN


Guest Editors

Periodically, HEPE will solicit guest editors for submissions proposing special issues centering a current topic in higher education politics and economics that warrants comprehensive coverage.  Guest editors may choose to directly commission papers from colleagues in the field or they may choose to put out a call for papers. Guest editors will work with the editorial team to ensure adherence to timelines, style guidelines, and journal scope. If you have an interest in editing a special issue, please contact senior editorial board members with ideas for a special issue or book projects related to higher education politics and economics. 

Copy Editors

  • Amanda Armstrong—Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, VA
  • Taylor Darden—University of Maryland- Baltimore County, Baltimore, MD
  • Diane Dougherty—Eastern Virginia Medical School, Norfolk, VA
  • Katy Mathuews—Ohio University, Athens, OH
  • Beth Solomon—Furman University, Greenville, SC

Managing Editors

  • Managing Editor – Courtney Jane Belmonte, D'Youville College
  • Editorial Assistant – Caroline Neal, Lehigh University

Editorial Team Responsibilities 

The Editorial Board is made up of members who are responsible for:

  • participation in quarterly Editorial Team conference calls and the annual meeting of the Editorial Team at CIES
  • acting as ambassadors by supporting and promoting the journal
  • seeking out the best authors and best work by actively encouraging submissions and identifying new volunteers for the journal’s operations
  • reviewing two to four submissions to the journal per year
  • occasionally accepting commissions to write editorials, reviews, and commentaries on papers in their specialist area
  • nomination of manuscript reviewers
  • Editors, editorial board members, and peer reviewers are required to comply with the journal’s Conflict of Interest Policy

Recognition & Benefits 

HEPE lists editor’s name and affiliation on the HEPE website.

HEPE is a non-profit publication and operates through the voluntary services of board members and editors.  No remuneration is provided to the authors or editors.